Skip directly to content

Board Minutes – October 2016

Tuesday, October 18, 2016


Swiss Avenue Historic District Association

General Membership Meeting Minutes

St. Matthews Cathedral, Lodge Building

5100 Ross Ave, Dallas, Texas 75206

Tuesday October 18, 2016

The October 18, 2016 General Membership meeting of the Swiss Avenue Historic District Association (SAHDA) was called to order at 7:03 pm by President Bob Ruckman. A majority of the board of directors of the SAHDA was present, a quorum was established and the Agenda as previously transmitted was followed.

Board members present included:

Officers: Bob Ruckman, Linda Solomon, Jean Dean, 
Lee Jones, Larry Waisanen

Block Directors: Gaye Martin, Roger Carroll, Janel Wood, Michelle Manners, Kevin Rogers, Natalie Kinvig, Jody Bowers, Ken Kuesel, David Dean, Jean Dunkerley, Michelle Baus, Elizabeth Mast, Mike French, Gary Hoffman

Alternate Block Directors: Jennifer Triptow, Larry Offutt
, Diane Brumelow, Nancy Phillips, Marilyn Waisanen, Bob Dupuy, James Finley, Jerry Baus, Virginia Bonifield

Alternate-At-Large Directors: 
Bob Bracken, Bob Cox, Cameron Kinvig

Non Board members present included:

Robyn Schwab, David Pinson, Claire Chaney, Tom Bonifield, Officer Foreman, Vanessa Hoffman, Jim Dunkerley, Mariana Greene, Steve Bourn, 
Neal Michell, Virginia McAlester, Sandy Brothers, Pauline Mayfield, Brian Jones, Bob Hopkins

AAC/Dallas PD:

Sgt. Foreman


Wendy Hansen, RuLan Hebeler

Refreshments were provided. A special thank you was given to Neal Michell for letting the SAHDA meet at St. Matthew’s Cathedral.

Meeting minutes from the September 20, 2016 Annual meeting were presented. There was a motion by David Dean to approve the minutes as presented. The motion was seconded by Cameron Kinvig. The motion was approved.

Meeting minutes from the October 5, 2016 Organizational meeting were presented. There was a motion by Lee Jones to approve the minutes as presented. The motion was seconded by Gary Hoffman. The motion was approved.

Sgt. Foreman reported that for the last couple of months crime in our neighborhood has been quite. There will be one officer on duty for our Children’s Halloween party and four or five officers on duty Halloween night. The neighbors discussed parking issues with Sgt. Foreman.

Linda Solomon presented the financials through September 30, 2016. Committee reports were given.

Children’s Social Committee – Bob Ruckman gave Kim McCrea’s report. Sunday October 30, 2016 will be the date of the Children’s Halloween Party. Party located at the Loh’s (4930 Swiss) and Wohlfeld’s (4938 Swiss) homes. Sunday December 11, 2016 is the date of the Children’s Christmas Party to be held at the Hurst’s (5417 Swiss).

Beautification Committee – Marilyn Waisanen reported that items that are in the budget include the maintenance of Savage Park and the 2 ends of the medians, the light bulbs at the gates, replacement of the stolen plaques. The City of Dallas currently has a 50/50 matching funds program for sidewalk replacement. The SAHDA has allocated some funds to pay for half of the neighbor’s cost. The lantana plants at La Vista will be changed out. The committee is working on getting the stolen plaques at Fitzhugh replaced. Gary Arh is continuing the tree trimming of the parkways.

Alliance Against Crime (AAC) Committee – No additional report. Bob Ruckman mentioned that the budget was increased over last year but we still need donations from the neighbors. More members are needed on this committee.

Social Committee – Natalie Kinvig reported that there will be a social at Mi Cocina on Friday, October 28th from 5:30 – 7:30 pm and a Holiday Party on December 10th. A location is needed for the Holiday Party. Bob Ruckman thanked Cameron and Natalie for bringing refreshments to the meeting.

Website Committee – Bob Cox continues to maintain and update the website by himself. It was noted that he continues to do a great job.

Planning and Zoning Committee – Jim Dunkerley discussed the purpose of the committee. The Revised Committee Charter Statement for the Planning and Zoning Committee was presented. The Revised Committee Charter was discussed. There was a motion made by David Dean to approve the Revised Committee Charter Statement as presented. Cameron Kinvig seconded the motion. The motion was approved.

The names of the committee were presented. They are Tom Bonifield, Steve Bourn, Jody Bowers, Jeff Bryan, Roger Carroll, Bob Cox, David Dean, Jim Dunkerley, James Finley, Joanna Hampton, Gary Hoffman, Chris Kelsey, Cameron Kinvig, Virginia McAlister, Arch McColl, Neal Michell, Larry Offutt, Nancy Phillips, Stephen Phillips, Kevin Rogers, Bob Ruckman (ex-officio), Max Schulz and Janal Wood. If DCMSA representative, Wendy Hansen, is eligible to serve she will also be on the committee. If she is not eligible Sandy Brothers will serve. David Dean motioned to approve the committee as presented. Cameron Kinvig seconded the motion. The motion approved.

Jim Dunkerley discussed possible times and dates to hold future meetings of the Planning and Zoning Committee at his house. Jim Dunkerley said he would be sending out a meeting notice for the first meeting.

David Dean motioned that the Planning and Zoning Committee bring a recommendation to the board regarding parking issues in the district. Cameron Kinvig seconded the motion. The motion approved.

Outreach Committee – Robyn Schaub stated the committee will be establishing guidelines, processes and procedures to determine how the SAHD’s outreach budget will be distributed. The committee membership has not been finalized.

Home Tour Committee – Lee Jones reported that she has several homes already committed for the home tour and several others considering being on the home tour. A motion was made by David Dean to approve the Home Tour Chair’s retention on behalf of the SAHDA of a paid home tour coordinator (likely to be the one we used for last year’s home tour) with the same terms, conditions and provisions as developed for the previous home tour coordinator. The motion was seconded by Larry Waisanen. The motion was approved.

The meeting was adjourned at approximately 8:50.